Info

Fort Phantom Hill

Ft. Phantom Hill, also known as the "Post on the Cedar Fork of the Brazos" was built in 1851 to provide safe passage through Comanche territory for Americans headed to the gold fields of California. The site was poorly situated near brackish water and little forested cover and was first abandoned in 1854 when it was mysteriously burned. The remnants of the fort were later used by the Butterfield Overland Mail route as a way station and Confederate troops as a base of field operations. Goodnight and Loving passed the fort on their way to the Pecos. The 22-acre site is open to visitors who can explore the remnants of officers quarters, guardhouse, powder magazine, hospital and over a dozen stone chimneys.

Add to Lightbox Download
Filename
20110427 333 Goodnight Loving Trail.JPG
Copyright
© Julia Robinson Photo
Image Size
4368x2912 / 15.6MB
Contained in galleries
Ft. Phantom Hill, also known as the "Post on the Cedar Fork of the Brazos" was built in 1851 to provide safe passage through Comanche territory for Americans headed to the gold fields of California. The site was poorly situated near brackish water and little forested cover and was first abandoned in 1854 when it was mysteriously burned. The remnants of the fort were later used by the Butterfield Overland Mail route as a way station and Confederate troops as a base of field operations. Goodnight and Loving passed the fort on their way to the Pecos. The 22-acre site is open to visitors who can explore the remnants of officers quarters, guardhouse, powder magazine, hospital and over a dozen stone chimneys.